Of the many diaper-related struggles (hello, rashes and blowouts), one of the first things I noticed when my daughter was born was how red and irritated her sensitive newborn skin got from her diapers. I slathered on all the diaper balm I could, let her go diaperless every now and then (not an option I recommend for more than a few minutes), and was careful to wipe her down with nontoxic wipes at each changing. No matter how hard I tried, though, the redness kept happening. When I heard about Pampers Pure Protection Diapers, a supposedly less toxic and less irritating—albeit more expensive—version of traditional Pampers, I was intrigued to see how my daughter’s skin would react to them. Here’s what happened. 

Design: Standard, but on the cuter side

As far as I can tell, the design of Pampers Pure diapers isn’t much different from other Pampers models, like Swaddlers or Baby Dry. They seem to fit the same and have the same wetness indicator strip that lets me know when it’s time for a change—a diaper feature that I’m not sure how previous generations lived without.  The one thing I found incredibly endearing about these diapers is that they feature adorable designs (my favorite is a bunny), making diaper changes more fun for my husband and me. We like to point out the designs to our daughter while we’re getting ready to change her diaper. She doesn’t care, but hey, give it a few more months and she just might. The other Pampers model we use most often, Pampers Swaddlers, also has designs but they’re a little less noticeable and a lot less cute. Pampers Pure diapers obviously have perks other than their fun designs, but this a nice, fun quality. The only downside of these designs is that they can be a distraction from poop in the diaper. If you’re breastfeeding like I am, poop doesn’t always have the strongest smell, so I often rely on being able to see it a bit through the diaper to know when it’s time for a change. Maybe we need a poop indicator strip, too? Just an idea. 

Materials: High-quality and non-toxic

The materials are really where Pampers Pure diapers shine. What makes Pampers Pure different from other Pampers models is the “pure” promise: They’re made with premium cotton and soft, plant-based fibers. They’re also chlorine-free, fragrance-free, and hypoallergenic. They’re soft to the touch, too, which makes me feel better. It’s nice to know that my daughter is likely a little more comfortable in these diapers than other brands and models, even if she can’t vocalize that feeling just yet. As someone who tries to put only the most natural materials and products on my own skin and is willing to pay extra money for non-toxic feminine hygiene products, I can certainly appreciate the natural, non-toxic promise Pampers Pure delivers. I was happy to see that my daughter’s skin did appear less irritated while wearing Pampers Pure, both after a few hours and overnight. It’s nice to see proof that soft, natural materials can do their job. 

Absorbency: Pretty average

First things first: I will never not be impressed by what most diapers can do, from absorbing an obscene amount of pee to containing some blowouts, if only for a little while. When it came to the blowout protection factor of Pampers Pure, I found it to be slightly above average—she did ruin a few outfits while wearing these, but it wasn’t anything too catastrophic. The back of the diaper comes up higher than Pampers Swaddlers, providing a little more protection. Unfortunately, blowouts come out the side, too, so these diapers aren’t completely blowout-proof.  I do love just how thick and heavy these diapers get when they’re really wet, as it can help inform the urgency of a change. You can see and feel their heaviness through both lightweight outfits and heavy pajamas. This, along with the wetness indicator strip, is an excellent way to prevent diaper rashes. 

Price: More expensive than your average Pampers

A 68-pack of Pampers Pure (size 0) can be found for around $25, which means the diapers come out to about 37 cents each. (Different sizes come in different quantities and sometimes you can find them for even less per diaper.) They’re more expensive than other Pampers models, but this makes sense: They’re made with higher quality materials, and those cost money.  While in an ideal world I’d clothe my daughter in exclusively organic cotton onesies and have her wear diapers made of only the most natural materials, high-quality and non-toxic materials are more expensive. As with most things, it comes down to where your priorities lie—if you’re willing to pay the extra buck for a less toxic, less irritating diaper, then Pampers Pure Protection Diapers are for you. 

Pampers Pure Protection Diapers vs. Andy Pandy Premium Bamboo Disposable Diapers

Still undecided? Check out our roundup of the best diapers.  If making sure your baby is only exposed to the most natural materials is high on your priority list, Pampers Pure Protection Diapers are a great way to do that without spending an absurd amount of money.