From a fluffy bean bag chair to a cushy chill pad, this convertible seat is a unique twist on typical bean bag chairs out there. Unlike the formless chairs from my childhood, the CordaRoy Chenille Bean Bag Chair is a cozy, foam-filled seat that is designed to convert into a flat mattress-like pad. Outfitted in a microfiber, machine-washable cover, the chair is easy enough to transform that even my little testers can do it. Between virtual school and family streaming marathons, we are spending more time at home and were excited to test out the durability and comfort of the CordaRoy Chenille Bean Bag Chair. Along with my junior testers ages 10, 7, and 3, I tested out this unique bean bag chair to see how well it would hold up in our household.

Arrival & Setup

Arriving in a standard, large cardboard box, I was relieved that the CordaRoy Chenille Bean Bag Chair packaging wasn’t oversized or obnoxiously heavy. Inside the box, the chair was sent in two separate pieces, the large and super-soft corduroy-chenille cover and the packed foam. While the foam did have a mild odor (which isn’t unusual for manufactured products) it wasn’t overwhelming and seemed to dissipate quite quickly. I was expecting to put my biceps to work in order to break apart the packed foam for the chair, but thankfully this bean bag was fairly easy to fluff—and I think that’s at least in part because this bean bag expands into a full-size mattress. Rather than shape it into a big and round chair, we essentially just had to break apart the foam into an even, flat shape. Before we even put the cover on, my kids wasted no time hopping on it right away. In its mattress form, my 10-year-old said, “I like that it’s low to the ground, pretty light, and easy to move. You can fit your body in, and you don’t totally sink in". We also noted and liked that this bean bag chair came with instructions. While it’s a pretty simple setup, I found this included information pretty helpful to have on hand. I noticed that the included instructions said that the foam would continue to expand for up to a week but, even after that time frame, the foam size didn’t change much from what I could see. Once the mattress fully expanded, it was pretty easy to fold the mattress into the chenille cover. The bag opens super wide and has a big, sturdy zipper with a strong pull tab. While it’s much easier to do with at least two people, I was able to stuff and close the bean bag with just the help of my 10-year-old son and minimal grunting from either of us. 

Comfort

While the concept of this chair initially seemed like it’d be my new favorite lounge spot, as a 5-foot, 5-inch tall adult woman, I just didn’t find it comfortable to lay in. The lack of support and structure made it hard for me to enjoy sitting in it (it reminded me of trying to get comfortable in a dog bed). However, my two older kids absolutely loved this chair from the first plop. My 10-year-old son snuggles up into the CordaRoy and says that he loves it because it is just the right size for him. My middle son even noticed that the couch has been pretty much abandoned for the CordaRoy. Beyond a chair, the major selling point of the CordaRoy is that it turns into a mattress. By simply unzipping the cozy cover, the inner liner comes out and lies flat on the ground. The size we tested turns into a full-size mattress. And while my kids enjoyed laying on this mattress, I found it lumpy with a much less smooth and consistent feel than a regular mattress.  When not in mattress mode, we all appreciated the velvety-soft texture of the cover. It’s a plush microfiber that has a woven-like appearance, so it’s attractive, doesn’t leave handprints like a flat microsuede can, and isn’t overly fuzzy. It’s also machine washable, which, as a mom of three, I appreciate as I anticipate having to wash the cover at some point. 

Space

We tested the smallest of the three size options of the CordaRoy chairs. In bean bag chair mode, the seat measures about 42 x 42 x 32 inches, which translates into big but not a space-sucker. It weighs 30 pounds which means my kids can move it around the room with a bit of effort. Since it is a little on the heavier side, transporting it up and down the stairs isn’t easy for my kids, so it has taken up permanent residence in our basement playroom. According to CordaRoy’s specifications, the full-size mattress measures 54 x 75 x 8 inches. However, in-person, the 8-inch height is a generous estimation. The foam isn’t consistently distributed throughout the base and shifts while laying on it. So there are noticeable spots on the mattress that are higher and areas that are lower. CordaRoy also makes chairs that open into queen- and king-sized mattresses. These are much larger, both as chairs and mattresses, and naturally much heavier. 

Maintenance

I like the way the bean bag chair looks and feels. I especially appreciate that the patterned microfiber, which is cozy, durable, and keeps tiny handprints from forming all over the chair. The fabric shows no signs of pilling, wear, or excessive use, even though my two active boys jump, wrestle, and relax on the chair daily. The cover is machine washable and seems like it would hold up fine in a laundry cycle. I really like how strong and sturdy the oversized zipper is, especially since taking the cover on and off is a key component of the mattress-to-chair transformation. Zipping and unzipping the cover is easy and doable, even for one person. Despite the cover being machine washable, I do worry a bit about cleaning the foam. If there is an overnight accident, the mattress cannot be washed, which can lead to lingering odors and growing bacteria. However, there is a minor solution to this potential problem as the mattress features a child safety zipper that I can unzip in order to access and remove any soiled foam. 

Price

The CordaRoy chair is a pretty pricey option. However, the price tag does account for it being both a full-size mattress and a spacious bean bag chair. Long term, it seems the higher price could be worth it, especially considering how much my kids love to use this chair and the usefulness of having an additional mattress without taking up additional space. 

Usefulness

My kids absolutely love this bean bag. My 10-year-old loves to lounge on this chair while watching TV, relaxing, playing the Nintendo Switch, or just chilling. It’s a permanent fixture in our basement playroom and is favored over the couch in all situations. While the kids would happily toss our couch in the dumpster and use the CordaRoy as the sole seating accommodations, it simply isn’t comfortable for me. It’s also important to note that this is more of a lounging and chill spot than a replacement for a desk chair for virtual learning.  While sleepovers are currently limited, I’m sure this bean bag will be in high demand when they start back up again. My kids think the mattress is totally comfortable, and while I am not volunteering to sleep on this mattress anytime soon, my kids can’t wait to use CordaRoy as a bed. The dual-purpose feature can really come in handy as an extra mattress for sleepovers as well as a cool lounge spot for my kids. Aside from using the flat form as an actual mattress, the CordaRoy is great for indoor play as well. Once expanded, the CordaRoy my kids have used it as a stage, gymnastics landing pad, pirate ship, and lazy chill zone. The transition between the seat and mattress mode is so easy that my kids really benefit from both forms. Thanks to the wide opening of the liner and the strong and sturdy zippers, stuffing the mattress back in is a breeze.

Why Trust Verywell Family?

Maya Polton is a former marketing manager and current freelance writer who covers food, home, and parenting. She’s also the mom of a 10-year-old son, 7-year-old son, and 3-year old daughter. All three kids, plus Maya and her husband, tested the bean bag chairs for four weeks. It was a full family adventure to open all the bags, set them up, and move them around the house from the living room, kids’ bedrooms, and basement playroom to test them for usefulness, maneuverability, sturdiness, comfort, and more.